Some random memories & yet another weekend mental vacation!


I can’t wait to get my hands on my parent’s massive trunk-o-pictures! My dad, aunt, uncle, cousin, and I went to visit my grandparents in Arizona when I was about 12. WHAT a long three days driving, trapped in a tiny Nissan with 4 other people! Once we got there it was so worth it! That is the most beautiful landscape I have ever encountered (and hey I live in Germany!)

Of course I can’t remember every detail, so that is more than enough reason for me to go back some day.

I remember having my first Sarsaparilla,  panning for gold, visiting an old west town(I’ll have to ask dad where we were exactly), seeing the Painted Desert, Sedona, the Grand Canyon, the petrified forest and a ton of other fantastic places! I remain completely in love with all the Native American wares that you can find in every city and almost every shop! Having a certain percentage of Native American heritage myself (Cherokee I believe), I appreciate the culture that much more. The music, art, and people are BEAUTIFUL.

I also remember my aunt riding a three wheeled bicycle! MAN do I want to find those pictures!!!

If by some miracle we did find ourselves stationed there, I would insist of having misters on our back porch. That was my favorite part of Mamaw Zel and Bob’s house! I found the heat there to be way more tolerable than the southern places I have lived. It’s hot, don’t get me wrong, but you can still breathe! Almost no humidity. If you plan to picnic, don’t leave your sandwich out on the table unless you expect to pick up a giant crouton 5 minutes later. 🙂

So I’ve decided it’s time for another mental vacation. It has been raining and grey for two days no, so I need some sun!

As always, I’ll even provide a soundtrack for the “journey”.  This is one of my FAVORITE songs!

Jamie O\’Neal, There Is No Arizona…… and of course I can’t figure out the embedding, so I will have to edit it later!

Can anyone name this classic??

The Wave Paria Canyon Vermilion Cliffs

Um, Wow.

The Painted Desert

The Petrified Forest

This might be horribly inappropriate, but I found it hilarious. HOW TRUE. The "first settlers" obviously had never heard the term trespassing.

Places like this are everywhere, and I could spend a FORTUNE.

Shorter post than usual today, because it is time for my nightly workout!! My neighbors (Kami or Holly) will go with me to the gym or walk until our legs hurt around the base. Diet is going great so far. Almost 10 pounds in a month. Slow and steady wins the race!

My goal is to one day TAKE all these family adventures and “mental” vacations for real and not cringe at myself in picutres! Oh, and have the energy to actually have some fun while we are there. Being overweight makes it impossible to last very long when you are exploring new places!

Leave a Reply

