“As a matter of fact, I rather feel like expressing myself now!”


“For Attractive lips, speak words of kindness.
For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.
For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.
For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day.
For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone.
People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms.
As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.”
Audrey Hepburn

There are many reasons I adore this woman. Not just for her films, but for her humanitarian efforts, heart, and outlook on life. She was simply stunning inside and out. She figured out what she liked, what worked for her and stuck with it. You certainly can’t fault that attitude! I quote her often, and for good reason. I could go on and on but I think I will leave that for another post. (with pics!)

I ran across a new tutorial from one (of a duo) of makeup gurus on youtube that I follow. It was an updated Audrey Hepburn inspired look. I am dying to try some of the products mentioned by Too Faced Cosmetics, if not for an Audrey look than I think it will work beautifully for an everyday look. I am drawn to the more neutral colors like soft browns and champagne colors. A good peachy-pink eyeshadow and nude lipstick is hard to find. Especially with my fair coloring. I used to hate my complexion in school where it was very “in” to be as tanned as a piece of shoe leather. I can’t count the times I was told to “go find a tanning bed”. Now that I have learned to love myself just as I am I say to them- pppfffffffffffbbbbbllllllll!!! Instead of trying to be something I’m not, I’ve decided to run with what I have. Which is a very fair, pink complexion. Like Miss Audrey once said-

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.”

Products I WANT from this tutorial:

The eyeshadow quad she uses (as far as I know) comes in a deluxe kit with a few other Too Faced Products I would love to try anyway!

$42.00 from amazon.com

Another Palette I think would work very well for this look is also from Too Faced.  It’s their Natural Eye Palette/kit. Retails for $35.00 from Sephora and Amazon.

If you can’t afford these I am sure a nice neutral drugstore dupe or even the Coastal Scents 88 Warm Palette would be just fine! You don’t have to spend a fortune to achieve this look.

The lip products she uses in this tutorial I am falling in love with. The more I look at them, the more I like them. I just hate that one of them is MAC. I am NOT on a MAC budget…..but hey…Christmas is coming up!

MAC Cremestick Liner in Sublime Culure:

$14.50 from Nordstrom.com

Another lip liner I wouldn’t mind nabbing from MAC is-

Subculture from their regular pencil lip liner line. ($13.00 Nordstrom)

Lastly the lipstick she used for the tutorial was Too Faced Totally Nude.

$20.00 found on amazon.com

HONESTLY any nude lipstick or gloss you like that works for your individual skin tone and lip color will be just fine. No need spending the big bucks if you have already found something that works.

A few very helpful links to tutorials by emilynoel83 via youtube on finding inexpensive neutral/nude lipcolor that will work for you:

Top 10 Neutral Lipsticks: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrjxO6VeRMo

Drugstore Nude Lip Tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jdl460WCVPU

Quick Tricks: Nude Lips: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxlZQw_KLqE&feature=channel

AND finally! The main inspiration for this post!

The lovely Nic from Sam & Nic’s channel “Pixiwoo” (http://www.youtube.com/user/pixiwoo) on youtube.  While I wouldn’t wear Audrey liner and brows on a daily basis, I LOVE the eyeshadow and lip colors she chose here. Enjoy!!

*Note- you don’t have to use the pricier products she used in this tutorial. These colors and products are easily duplicated with drugstore products.

Leave a Reply

