“Tell me what you eat, I’ll tell you who you are.” ~Anthelme Brillat-Savarin


Grocery Day for me, means DINNER IDEAS for you! 🙂

UGH…the dreaded trip to the grocery store. Any mom knows EXACTLY my sentiments right about now. If you hated tackling those crowded isles,  monstrous bill at the end, and *sigh* dragging them all inside and spending what feels like hours sorting and putting them all away- just wait until you throw a toddler into that lovely mix!!

All complaining aside, I have some really yummy cold weather recipes in mind for this week from my favorite cook in the world- my Momma! She is a phenomenal, straight forward, loves her kids like crazy, southern woman! I will be posting many more family recipes, but being as homesick as I am at the moment I chose my two favorite comfort foods that were always served as soon as the temperatures started to drop at our house.

Our family meals were never formal and the conversations never reserved. Whatever was said and done at the dinner table was out of love. Even if it was a little squabble between siblings or some advice that you probably didn’t appreciate at the time that now seems invaluable….We never knew nor do we feel like we came from a family where money was tight (even though we did) because there was always so much love in that house you felt you had more than all the world’s riches could buy! Momma always uses what she has and makes the best of it. We could all take a page or two from her book…..Actually I am learning to take as many pages as possible from the three women I admire most in the world. ALL happen to be WONDERFUL cooks!! Maybe if we are all lucky, I can steal a few of my favorite recipes from each of them and get to share how fantastic these women are in the process!!!

From left to right: Aunt Marie (Aunt “B”), My Momma, & Aunt Kay

Down to business!

~Potato Soup ala Phyllis~

With only a handful of ingredients you can feed an army! As with all her recipes there really isn’t a measurement system. You just “dump it in there and season it to taste”

You will need:

A “heavy pot” (6 quarts or better)

4 slices of bacon “cubed”, cook bacon in the bottom of the saucepan- leave the grease

Cube 4-6 potatoes (depending on how many you are feeding)

1 small-medium onion diced, throw it in the pot with potatoes

1 whole stick of butter(quartered), again dump it in the pot

Garlic powder, salt, pepper to taste

2 chopped stalks of celery (optional)

Add water to just about an inch above the ingredients already in the pot

Cook on LOW heat until potatoes are soft. When you get to this point, mash a few of the potatoes against the side of the pot with a fork to make a more soup-like consistency.

As you are letting that simmer for about 5-10 minutes add regular milk (whatever you have in the fridge) to YOUR desired consistency. If you want it creamier- add more milk.

Mix up a batch of cornbread on the side and there you have it!

~Cheap and Easy Chili~

You will need:

One package of Mccormick Chili Seasoning Mix (I’m not joking!)

Follow the recipe on the back with a few additions/revisions:

  • She always like to use tomato SAUCE instead of paste and I have to agree!
  • Add can or two of kidney beans for a heartier chili
  • Add chili powder to taste if the chili doesn’t have enough kick for your taste- or if you are brave Cayan pepper!

She always serves PB&J sandwiches along with crackers and cheese to go along with this meal. It is something she remembers from her school days and I have no idea how- but it works!

4 thoughts on ““Tell me what you eat, I’ll tell you who you are.” ~Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

  1. Aunt Kay says:

    Manda I love this. Have you ever made Taco soup simple dump recipe LOL.
    1#ground beef
    1 onion chopped
    1 can ranch style beans(do not drain)
    1 can whole kernel corn(do not drain)
    1 can mild rotel tomatoes
    1 can original rotel tomatoes
    1 pkg Taco seasonining(I like 2 pks more flavor)
    1 pkg Ranch Style Dressings mix
    I usually add several cans of water to what consistancey you want soup.
    Cook ground beef and onion until browned, drain; if excess grease. Dump all other ingredients in pot. Simmer 1hr.
    Serve over corn chips or with crackers. Top with Shredded cheddar cheese and dolip of sour cream.

Leave a Reply

